[MCN] Jeannette Rankin Peace Center Announces the 2018 Peacemaker and the Search For Peace Award Recipient

Jeannette Rankin Peace Center peace at jrpc.org
Fri May 11 19:25:04 EDT 2018


*Jeannette Rankin Peace Center Announces the 2018 Peacemaker*

*and the Search For Peace Award Recipient*

Contact: Betsy Mulligan-Dague, peace at jrpc.org or 406-274-6171

Available for interview: Steve McAthur, stevemcarthur at aol.com or

Betsy Mulligan-Dague, peace at jrpc.org or 406-274-6171

Fr. Jim Hogan, jim at fatherhogan.com or (406) 721-5090

The Jeannette Rankin Peace Center and the Missoula Peace Quilters are
thrilled to honor and celebrate Steve McArthur as this year’s Peacemaker.
He will be honored at a celebration on Sunday, May 20 at 2 pm at the
University Congregational Church in Missoula along with a special youth
peace award recipient - the winner of the Fr. Jim Hogan's Search for Peace
award open to those 5-18 years of age. The Missoula Peace Quilters will
present Steve with a unique quilt made to reflect his commitment to peace,
as they do for each of the award recipients. And our young peacemaker will
receive a cash award. The event is free and open to the public with a
reception to follow.

Thanks to our 2018 sponsors: First Security Bank, the Missoula Peace
Quilters, UCC Church and Fr. Jim Hogan

*About Steve McArthur*

Steve McArthur walks the walk like few others!  Every day, he draws from
the values of respect, cooperation and openness to connect with everyone he
meets. And he does it with the biggest smile, the warmest hug and the most
contagious laugh. The fun he has in life rubs off on us and the feelings of
being valued and respected that he gives everyone he meets is a basic
foundation to the work we all need to do to build peace. To Steve, peace
means respecting others, listening deeply to other points of view and
working to build consensus.  He has often recognized a dissonance and
stopped to follow-up and ask how he can better understand another person.
He is a natural problem-solver and mediator.

Steve is above all, a good citizen and a great steward of our earth and he
believes we all have a responsibility to care about our planet, and each
other. His life is a testament to the actions inherent in living up to that
responsibility. This commitment to peace extends to his own willingness to
walk lightly on the earth, composting and recycling, working the earth to
grow food to share with others and volunteering for so many Missoula
organizations it would be difficult to list them all.

Steve teaches us to treasure and protect our planet, to truly enjoy life
and bring hope to others, to value above all the connections and
conversations we have with each other and to truly look beyond our
differences with compassion and love at the value of each person we meet.

*About the Search For Peace Award*

Nominations for the Fr. Jim Hogan's Search for Peace Youth Award include:

·       Allison  Moran, a 5-year-old kindergartner at Cold Springs

·       Marita Growing Thunder, a UM student

·       The SOAP Girls, a group of 4 girls who have been working on social
justice issues since they were ages 9-10.

·       The Group that Organized the Hellgate HS walkout on 1/18

·       The long list of students, grades 3-12 who organized Walk Outs at
all schools on March 1 and spoke to a community rally on March 24

A group of their peers has selected one of the individuals or groups above
to receive a cash award for their contribution to the search for peace. It
will be presented by Fr. Jim Hogan, a prior Peacemaker and the founder of
the Search for Peace Award in 2001. This is the first year this award has
been given. Prior to now it has been a youth art contest. Co-sponsoring
help provided by Empower MT.

*About the Peacemaker Award*

The peacemaker award is given each year to individuals or groups who
demonstrate a long-term commitment to peace and justice and take a
leadership role in creating a better world. We look for people who “walk
the walk” in their personal and professional lives.

We accept nominations for both of these award throughout the year and the
choice is made each fall. For more information about the award, please
visit our website at www.jrpc.org.


1986    Flo Chessin

1987    Jim Ranney

1988    Butch Turk

1989    Connie Skousen, deceased

1990    Perry Gliessmann

1991    Pat Ortmeyer

1992    Anita Doyle

1993    Beth Sirr

1994    Scott Morgan & Tom Javins

1995    Julie Grant, deceased

1996    Alice Campbell, deceased

1997    John Agner & Tammy Elser

1998    Pete Lawrenson

2000    Jim Hogan

2001    Liz Rantz

2002    Scott Nicholson & Bryony Schwan

2003    Rita Jankowski-Bradley

2004    Amy Martin

2005    Ethel MacDonald

2006    Peter Shober

2007    Josh Slotnick

2008    Carel Schneider & Women In Black

2009    Jim Caron

2010    John Baugh, deceased

2011    Jane McAllister

2012    Dan Gallagher, deceased

2013    Meyer “Mike” Chessin

2014    Claudia Brown

2015    Kathi and Glenn “Woody” Wood

2016    Patrick Weasel Head

2017    Mary Poole

Betsy Mulligan-Dague, Executive Director
Jeannette Rankin Peace Center
...working to build a world that is nonviolent, socially just and
environmentally sustainable...
519 S. Higgins
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: 406-543-3955
Fax:  406-541-3997
peace at jrpc.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://bigskynet.org/pipermail/missoula-community-news_bigskynet.org/attachments/20180511/c30f37cd/attachment.html>

More information about the Missoula-Community-News mailing list